

ISSUE 17

AIR CARGO GROWTH HELPS DRIVE ASIA AS ECONOMIC POWERHOUSE



Award recipients at the inaugural Payload Asia Awards 2012, honouring the best in the air cargo community. *Photo courtesy of Payload Asia*.

The stronger air cargo growth projected for the Asia-Pacific is in line with Asia's evolution as the next economic powerhouse.

Speaking at the Payload Asia Awards 2012 gala dinner and awards ceremony as guest of honour, Director-General of the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) Mr Yap Ong Heng said, "The rising affluence of Asia's rapidly growing middle-class and the increasing business activities in Asia will drive more air cargo movements within the region." Congratulating the 16 award winners at the inaugural Awards organised by Payload Asia magazine, he added that it is important for companies involved in the air cargo business to continue adapting to change and pursue excellence.

"Companies must therefore be nimble and innovative to further grow and achieve even more. This includes enhancing your service offerings, re-designing your processes and using technologies to raise competitiveness, productivity and service standards. Greater collaboration and tie-ups are also essential to bring the air cargo industry forward in meeting the demands of the future," said Mr Yap.

Among the 16 awards given out was a special Editor's Choice Award which saw Michael Steen, chief commercial officer of Atlas Air Worldwide honoured with Personality of the Year, for his

work championing the industry as chairman of both The International Air Cargo Association (TIACA) and the Global Air Cargo Advisory Group (GACAG).

Turkish Cargo took home the Overall Carrier of the Year award, while three Asian carriers scooped up the remaining top cargo carrier awards including AirAsia Cargo, for Rising Star Cargo Carrier of the Year, China Southern Cargo for Combination Carrier of the Year and Korean Air Cargo which was awarded Maindeck/Specialist Carrier of the Year. Singapore Changi Airport took home the Airport of the Year award.