Establishment of Temporary Restricted Area for The Conduct of Aerial Activities

1 Jun 2018

The Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) will be establishing a temporary Restricted Area over parts of Singapore, on selected days in June, July and August 2018, under the Air Navigation Order (ANO). This is to ensure the safety of aircraft flying at low levels as part of the aerial activities for National Day Parade 2018 (NDP 2018) and RSAF50 celebrations. The temporary Restricted Area will be in effect on the dates and timings stated below, which include those for rehearsals and previews. In the event of poor weather conditions on any of the planned dates, the respective reserve dates may also be utilised.

Date (June 2018)

Time

5 Jun (Tuesday)

08:30am – 12:30pm

8 Jun (Friday)

08:30am – 12:30pm

16 Jun (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

23 Jun (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

30 Jun (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

Date (July 2018)

Time

7 Jul (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

13 Jul (Friday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

14 Jul (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

20 Jul (Friday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

21 Jul (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

27 Jul (Friday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

28 Jul (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

29 Jul (Sunday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm – Reserve

Date (August 2018)

Time

2 Aug (Thursday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

4 Aug (Saturday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

5 Aug (Sunday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm – Reserve

6 Aug (Monday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

7 Aug (Tuesday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

9 Aug (Thursday)

05:30pm – 08:30pm

11 Aug (Saturday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

02:00pm – 04:30pm

05:30pm – 08:30pm – Reserve

12 Aug (Sunday)

09:30am – 12:00pm

02:00pm – 04:30pm

The temporary Restricted Area (as shown in Annex A) will encompass the Marina Bay Floating Platform and the surrounding areas, and will extend from ground level to 600 feet above mean sea level.

The establishment of the temporary Restricted Area is to ensure the safety of the aircraft and the public. During the stated dates and timings, the conduct of aerial activities (such as kite-flying, hoisting of captive balloons and flying of unmanned aircraft including drones) is prohibited within and into the temporary Restricted Area, unless authorised by the CAAS, as such activities endanger the aircraft as well as people and property on the ground.

Unauthorised conduct of aerial activities within and into the temporary Restricted Area is an offence under the ANO. SAF personnel will be deployed to conduct enforcement activities. If convicted, a person can be fined up to S$20,000 in the first instance and fined up to S$40,000 and/or imprisoned for up to 15 months in subsequent instances. 

Information on NDP 2018 and RSAF50 celebrations is available on www.ndp.org.sg and www.mindef.gov.sg/oms/rsaf50 respectively.

For media queries relating to the aerial display for NDP 2018, please contact:

Mr Andrew Tan 

Media Relations Officer

NDP 2018 Media Relations Committee

DID:

+65 6307 5838

Mobile:

+65 9784 4702

Email:

Andrew_Tan_Weiwen@mindef.gov.sg

 

For media queries relating to the aerial display for RSAF50 celebrations, please contact:

 

MAJ Guo Wenxu 

Assistant Director (Media Relations) 

MINDEF Comms Organisation

DID:

+65 6768 4988

Mobile:

+65 9183 5342

Email:

guo_wen_xu@mindef.gov.sg

 

For media queries relating to the establishment of the temporary Restricted Area under the Air Navigation Order, please contact:

 

Ms Nur Diana Jamaludin 

Senior Manager (Corporate Communications)

Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore

DID:

+65 6541 2085

Email:

Nur_Diana_Jamaludin@caas.gov.sg

 

Enclosed: Annex A

 

 



Last Updated on 15 Dec 2018