Dangerous Goods are articles or substances which are capable of posing a risk to health, safety, property, or the environment when transported by air. To ensure the safe transport of Dangerous Goods by air, requirements are set in place for both shippers / freight forwarders and air operators.  

A list of Dangerous Goods has been drawn up by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) in the ICAO Technical Instructions and classified as follows:

Class 1 Explosives
Class 2 Gases
Class 3 Flammable liquids
Class 4 Flammable solids; substances liable to spontaneous combustion; substances which, in contact with water, emits flammable gases
Class 5 Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides
Class 6 Toxic and infectious substances
Class 7 Radioactive material
Class 8 Corrosive substances
Class 9 Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles, including environmentally hazardous substances

Click on the links below to find out more about the requirements on the carriage of Dangerous Goods by air:

Last Updated on 18 September 2017